Skip to main content

Logo for N.C. Cooperative Extension N.C. Cooperative Extension Homepage

Meet Our Staff

County Extension Director

Billy Barrow, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionBilly BarrowCounty Extension Director and Extension Agent, Agriculture - Peanuts (252) 794-5317 (Office) wbarrow@ncsu.eduBertie County Center

4-H Youth Development

Guy Holley, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionGuy HolleyExtension Agent, 4-H Youth Development (252) 794-5317 (Office) gaholley@ncat.eduBertie County Center

Agriculture and Natural Resources

Jarette Hurry, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionJarette HurryExtension Agent, Agriculture - Field Crops, Horticulture and Forestry (252) 794-5317 (Office) jarette_hurry@ncsu.eduBertie County Center

Family and Consumer Sciences

Elizabeth Baker, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionElizabeth BakerArea Agent, Family and Consumer Sciences (252) 794-6179 Elizabeth_baker@ncsu.eduBertie County CenterKathy Copeland, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionKathy CopelandEFNEP Educator, Extension Program Associate (252) 794-5317 (Office) kathy_copeland@ncsu.eduBertie County Center

Support

Sheila Powell, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionSheila PowellCounty Extension Administrative Assistant (252) 794-5317 (Office) scpowell@ncsu.eduBertie County Center

Regional Positions

Area Specialized Agents specialize in specific areas of agriculture and natural resource management and serve many counties. Area 4-H Agents provide support to county based 4-H programs. While their knowledge and expertise is available to residents of Bertie County Center, they may not be present in the Bertie County Center. Please contact the Bertie County Center for assistance and initial consultation.

Susan Chase, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionSusan ChaseRegional Nutrition Extension Associate - Northeast EFNEP and SNAP-Ed Serves 10 CountiesBased out of Agricultural & Human Sciences(919) 827-2285 susan_chase@ncsu.eduAgricultural & Human Sciences Candice Christian, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionCandice ChristianArea Specialized Agent, Consumer and Retail Food Safety Serves 33 CountiesBased out of Agricultural & Human Sciences(919) 515-9148 cadescha@ncsu.eduAgricultural & Human Sciences Marti Day, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMarti DayArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Dairy Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Orange(919) 542-8202 marti_day@ncsu.eduOrange County Center Erin Eure, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionErin EureArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Commercial Fruits and Vegetables Serves 35 CountiesBased out of Gates(252) 357-1400 (Office) erin_eure@ncsu.eduGates County Center Steve Gabel, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionSteve GabelArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Aquaculture Serves 22 CountiesBased out of Chowan(252) 482-6585 (Office) steve_gabel@ncsu.eduChowan County Center Marissa Herchler, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMarissa HerchlerArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Animal Food Safety (FSMA Programs) Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Poultry Science(919) 515-5396 marissa_herchler@ncsu.eduPoultry Science Lynette Johnston, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDr. Lynette JohnstonArea Specialized Agent, Food Safety Serves 50 CountiesBased out of Food, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Sciences(919) 515-0303 lynette_johnston@ncsu.eduFood, Bioprocessing & Nutrition Sciences Colby Lambert, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionColby LambertArea Specialized Agent, Forestry Serves 32 CountiesBased out of Harnett(910) 814-6041 colby_lambert@ncsu.eduHarnett County Center Danny Lauderdale, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDanny LauderdaleArea Specialized Agent, Ornamental Nursery and Greenhouse, Eastern Region Serves 44 CountiesBased out of Wilson(252) 237-0111 (Office) danny_lauderdale@ncsu.eduWilson County Center Lori McBryde, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionLori McBrydeArea 4-H Agent, East Region Serves 34 CountiesBased out of Johnston(919) 989-5380 (Office) lori_mcbryde@ncsu.eduJohnston County Center Ashley Robbins, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionAshley RobbinsArea Specialized Agent - Dairy Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Chatham(919) 542-8203 ashley_robbins@ncsu.eduChatham County Center Margaret Ross, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMargaret RossArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Poultry Serves 32 CountiesBased out of Jones(252) 670-8254 margaret_ross@ncsu.eduJones County Center Chip Simmons, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionDr. Chip Simmons, IIIArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Food Safety Serves 51 CountiesBased out of Horticultural Science(919) 414-5632 odsimmon@ncsu.eduHorticultural Science Scott Tilley, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionScott TilleyArea Specialized Agent, Agriculture - Grain Serves 24 CountiesBased out of Washington(252) 793-4428 (Office) scott_tilley@ncsu.eduWashington County Center Mitch Woodward, N.C. Cooperative ExtensionMitch WoodwardArea Specialized Agent, Watersheds and Water Quality Serves 100 Counties and EBCIBased out of Wake(919) 414-3873 mdwoodwa@ncsu.eduWake County Center